10 Things Writing 100 Posts in 100 Days Taught Me about Building your Dreams

Fake it if you are naked, pop champagne every chance you get, and 8 other strategies to get to where you want to be in life inspired by behavioral science.

Fighter Pilot
12 min readSep 22, 2021
Girl writing by her desk under the light of a lamp
Photo by Daniel Chekalov on Unsplash

0 to 100 real quick!

Yes, I’m going to be the first author on Medium to quote Drake instead of Hemmingway as I just hit 100 consecutive days of writing and publishing a story.

About 3 months ago I set out to research and write about how to actually do the things we dream of doing. Like so many of us born into a world of endless possibilities, there are hundreds of things I want to do and achieve. I want to become an expert on behavioral science, learn a skateboard trick or two, write a book, start a YouTube channel, practice street photography, share my knowledge, and inspire others. That’s only a fraction of my mile-long bucket list. You would think that all these ambitions mean I’m pretty productive. Sadly the reality has been quite the opposite.

Throughout most of my twenties, I have been paralyzed by opportunity cost. Committing to any of my dreams has felt like turning my back on all of my other ambitions. And so instead of working towards any of the places I wanted to be in life…

--

--

Fighter Pilot

Fighter pilot reject taking notes on how to follow your dreams. I’m publishing those notes right here every day.